02juin10 h 12 min10 h 12 minIAAC

Détails de l'événement

du 1er mai au 15 octobre

International Awards for Art Criticism (IAAC) 2, 2015

The second edition of these Awards for an exhibition review, in English or Chinese, will be open for submissions from 1 May to 15 October 2015.

These annual Awards are now fully global. They are open to candidates from anywhere in the world, writing in Chinese or English about any contemporary art exhibition held between 20 September 2014 and 20 September 2015.

1. Three Cash Prizes will be awarded, as follows:

– Frist Prize: 6,000 euro plus a short visit to Shanghai for an essay, in English or Chinese

– Joint Second Prize: 2,000 euro for an essay in Chinese                                                                                                            – Joint Second Prize: 2,000 euro for an essay in English

2. Around 20 of the shortlisted essays (10 in English and 10 in Chinese) will be published in the original languages and in translation

Deadline for entries: 15 October

The Awards, which are judged anonymously, aim to support independent critical coverage of contemporary art, away from the immediate pressures of the market, media and private patronage. They seek to stimulate good writing, critical thinking, dialogue and research in China, the UK and worldwide. There is no age limit, and the Awards are open to all. The objectivity of the selection process is underpinned, both by the recognised professionalism of the Chinese and English-speaking jury members and by the strict anonymity of the judging process.

How to apply

Submissions should be no longer than 1,500 words in English or 2,000 Chinese characters in length and may be accompanied by a maximum of three images, that are cleared for publication. Entries must be submitted as a single PDF file no greater than 4MB – i.e an ‘optimised’ pdf. The entire email should not be more than 5MB. Publishing rights of alltexts must be assigned to the IAAC, regardless of whether or not they have been previously published. All entries will initially be sorted and shortlisted by the organisers and academic partners in China and the UK, then translated into Chinese (for English-language submissions) or English (for Chinese-language submissions).

The Awards will be adjudicated at the end of November 2015 by a jury of 5 internationally recognised critics, curators and art historians, as follows:

Marek Bartelik, Polish-born art critic, art historian, academic and poet, New York; president of the International Association of Art Critics (AICA), Paris
Catherine David, writer and curator; deputy director Musée national d’art moderne, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris

Dieter von Graffenried
, publisher, PARKETT magazine, Zürich / New York
Pi Li, curator and art historian; Sigg Senior Curator, M+, Hong Kong
Yongwoo Lee, president of the IBA (International Biennial Association)

The Awards are hosted by the Board of the not-for-profit International Awards for Art Criticism Ltd. and organised by the Shanghai Twenty-First Century Minsheng Art Museum (M21) and Anxin Trust Co. Ltd.-Artemis. They are held in partnership with the Royal College of Art, London, one of the world’s most influential postgraduate institutions of art and design, and in association with the International Association of Art Critics, based in Paris, with its 63 national sections and 4,600 members, worldwide. The principal sponsors are the Shanghai Minsheng Charity Foundation and the Anxin Trust Co. Ltd., China.

Board members of the IAAC: Henry Meyric Hughes (chair), Lewis Biggs, Juan Cruz, Ling Min; with an organising committee incl. GAN Zhiyi, GAO Chao.


Date / Heure

(Mardi) 10 h 12 min - 10 h 12 min